Is Sprite Halal
Is Sprite Halal

Is Sprite Halal or Haram? Quick Answer

Is Sprite halal? Sprite, a popular lemon-lime flavored soda, has been enjoyed by people all around the world for many years.


However, as the popularity of halal-certified products continues to grow, many people are wondering whether Sprite is suitable for those following a halal diet.

In this blog post, we will explore the ingredients used to make Sprite and determine whether it meets the requirements for halal friendly.

Whether you’re a Muslim, looking for halal-friendly options or simply curious about the topic, this blog post has all the information you need to know about the halal status of Sprite.

Is Sprite Halal?

Yes, Sprite is generally considered halal. It contains only six ingredients, none of which are derived from animals. In addition, Sprite Zero Sugar and the other Sprite flavors are generally considered halal. The lack of animal products or animal product derivatives and alcohol in the manufacturing and production of the Sprite recipe is what would make this a halal-friendly drink.


The main ingredients used to make the drink are carbonated water, high fructose corn syrup, natural flavors, citric acid, and sodium benzoate. 

High fructose corn syrup is a sweetener made from corn, and is often used in place of sugar. 

Citric acid is a common ingredient used in many foods and drinks, and is derived from citrus fruits.

Sodium benzoate is a preservative that is used to prevent the growth of bacteria and other microorganisms in food and drinks.

All of these ingredients are considered halal and are commonly used in a variety of foods and drinks.


Are Sprite Halal

Why Is Sprite Halal?

With all of these ingredients in mind, it is clear that sprite is suitable for halal consumers. The sweeteners, preservatives, and colors in this drink do not come from animals.

These are the current Sprite variations available on the market:

  • Sprite
  • Sprite Zero Sugar
  • Sprite Cherry
  • Sprite Cherry Zero Sugar
  • Sprite Cranberry
  • Sprite Cranberry Zero Sugar
  • Sprite Tropical Mix
  • Sprite “Lymonade”

None of the varieties contain flagrant animal ingredients, so they are halal.


All varieties and flavors of sprite are halal-friendly. Looking at the ingredients, none of them seem to be connected to animal by-products or alcohol.

Shaykh Ibn ‘Uthaymin said: The basic principle concerning all kinds of food, drink and clothing is that they are permissible until and unless proof is established that they are haram. Allah says (interpretation of the meaning):

He it is Who created for you all that is on earth” [Quran: Surah al-Baqarah 2:29]

So if something is haram, there should be a clear and detailed indication that it is haram. If there is no such proof, then it is not haram.

There is no harm in using soft drinks if they do not contain any substance that causes drunkenness even if the quantity of such material is very little. 

Because, there is a Hadith that reads: “If a big quantity of anything causes drunkenness, its small quantity is also forbidden” . [al-Musnad and al-Sunan].

Also, everything that can cause harms to one’s body is also prohibited.


Similar Posts

One Comment

Leave a Reply