Is Swedish Fish Halal
Is Swedish Fish Halal

Is Swedish Fish Halal? All You Need To Know About This Product

Is Swedish Fish halal? Well, lucky for you, today, we will be discussing the topic of whether or not Swedish Fish are considered halal. We will be taking a closer look at the ingredients of Swedish Fish and discussing whether or not they meet the criteria for halal foods.


So, let’s dive in and see if the beloved candy can be enjoyed by Muslim individuals.

Is Swedish Fish Halal?

Yes, Swedish Fish candies are halal as they do not contain any animal-derived ingredients or alcohol in them. The vast majority of Swedish Fish candies sold around the world are halal and contain no animal ingredients. The ingredients used to make Swedish Fish are halal.

When looking at the full list of Swedish Fish candies ingredients, there is nothing that raises concerns. In fact, it proves that Swedish are naturally vegetarian and halal-friendly.

What Are the Swedish Fish Ingredients?

The basic ingredients which are used to make Swedish Fish are:


  • Sugar: sugar is halal and several sources have confirmed that Mondelez uses a halal-friendly granulated sweetener.
  • Invert sugar: Invert sugar is a mixture of fructose and glucose that has been heated to create a more stable, viscous syrup.
  • It may sound strange, but it is used in many gourmet pastry kitchens worldwide. This is the “secret” ingredient that allows fanciful sugar sculptures to form without cracking.
  • Modified corn starch: Modified corn starch is similar to the cornflour you might use to thicken puddings or sauces in that it has been further processed with heat, acid, electricity, or something else to make it easier to work with.
  • Citric acid: This concentrated flavour enhancer derived from citrus fruits such as lemons, limes, and oranges adds a touch of brightness and a subtly tangy taste. When used in larger quantities, this produces pucker power for sour candies.
  • Natural and artificial flavors: There will be no real fruit here, but don’t worry, the flavours are still completely halal!
  • Mineral oil: This food-grade oil is used to keep the candy’s outsides shiny and to keep the pieces from sticking together in the package.
  • Carnauba wax: Carnauba wax comes from a plant and are considered halal.
  • Artificial colors (red #40, yellow #6, yellow #5, blue #1): If you’ve ever picked up a bottle of food coloring, this is no different. Sure, they’re made from synthetic sources but, it’s totally plant-based!

Please note that manufacturers may change the recipe of their products so make sure you double-check the label before purchasing.

While none of the ingredients in original swedish fish are derived from animals or animal by-products, according to the company, this indicates that it is safe to consume.

More Swedish Fish Varieties

Every brand as their own spin-offs and limited time flavor offerings, and Swedish Fish are no different. The ingredients are largely the same so they’re all halal but always double-check labels to make sure.

Here’s what kinds of Swedish Fish you can currently find on US grocery store shelves:

  • Original
  • Original Mini
  • Tails
  • Tropical Swedish Fish
  • Swedish Fish Mini (Assorted and Tropical)
  • Swedish Fish Crush Fruit Mix
Are Swedish Fish Halal

Why Is Swedish Fish Candy Halal?

Shaykh Ibn ‘Uthaymeen (may Allah have mercy on him) said: The basic principle with regard to food is that it is permissible, except that for which there is evidence that it is prohibited.


If we are uncertain about something, whether it is halaal or haraam, the basic principle is that it is permissible unless we find proof that it is prohibited.

The evidence for that is the verse in which Allah says (interpretation of the meaning):

He it is Who created for you all that is on earth” [Surah al-Baqarah 2:29].


That includes everything on earth, animals, plants, clothing and so on.

And Allah says (interpretation of the meaning): “He it is Who created for you all that is on earth” [Surah al-Jaathiyah 45:13].

Based on that, the basic principle with regard to all candies is that they are permissible unless there is evidence to prove that they are prohibited. End quote from Fataawa Noor ‘ala al-Darb, 11/116

On this basis it is permissible to eat swedish fish so long as it is not proven that their ingredients include anything that that is known in sharee’ah to be haram.


Unlike many other candies containing gelatin, Swedish Fish uses corn syrup, modified corn starch, and carnauba wax to give their product their typical gummy texture.

This means that Swedish Fish are halal friendly, even though there are some exceptions.


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply