Are Pretzels Halal? Here’s All You Need To Know
Are Pretzels halal? Pretzels are a popular snack food that can be found in many countries around the world. They are known for their unique twisty shape, crunchy texture, and salty flavor.
But for many Muslims, the question of whether or not pretzels are halal, or permissible according to Islamic law, is a concern. In this blog, we will explore the ingredients used in traditional pretzels and determine whether they are halal or not.
Are Pretzels Halal?
Yes, Pretzels are considered halal. They usually do not contain any haram products. The majority of the ingredients in pretzels are plant-based, like flour, sugar, oils and salts. The basic ingredients in most of pretzels brands are the same and for the most part halal.
Sheikh Uthaimeen said that the basic principle concerning all foods and drinks and clothing is that they are permissible, unless it is proven that they are haraam, because Allah, may He be exalted, says (interpretation of the meaning):
“He it is Who created for you all that is on earth. Then He rose over (Istawa) towards the heaven and made them seven heavens and He is the All-Knower of everything”Surah al-Baqarah 2:29
There are two types of pretzels: soft pretzels and hard pretzels.
Soft pretzels, also known as traditional pretzels, follow the traditional German recipe and is composed of three ingredients: yeast, water, and flour, which make up the dough.
And hard pretzels are the ones that more popular in American culture. Although they have the same ingredients, they have a different texture.
That’s because hard pretzels contain less water, and the cooking time is usually longer.
Based on the above information, it can be concluded that traditional pretzels are generally considered halal as long as the ingredients used are halal.
However, it is always a good idea to double-check the ingredients list and make sure that there are no forbidden substances present.
- SUGGESTED READING: Are Mentos Halal? (Mentos Fruit, Mint, And Gum)
Halal Pretzel Brands
For those who are looking for halal pretzels, there are many alternative options available.
Rold Gold Pretzels
Rold Gold Pretzels are baked mini pretzels that are a healthier snack. It is made from natural ingredients, including corn syrup, which is added to the nutrient.
Rold Gold makes vegan pretzels with wheat ingredients similar to those used in Garden Vegetable.
One of the halal options available in stores is UTZ Pretzels. It has a wide range of flavours, including Sourdough Hard Pretzels and Utz Classic Wheels Pretzels.
Unique Snacks is one of the popular pretzel brands that are very particular about their product ingredients. They bake their products called pretzels Splits where they use kosher on their hard pretzels.
Are Auntie Anne’s Pretzels Halal?
Yes, The dough used for the Original Auntie Anne’s Pretzels, Cinnamon Sugar, Raisin and Jalapeño, and Sweet Almond contain halal ingredients.
You can find various products from Auntie Anne’s range from soft pretzels to hard pretzels and drinks to wash it all down.
There are also recipes available for making your own at home. To make halal pretzels at home, simply follow a traditional pretzel recipe.
In conclusion, pretzels can be considered halal as long as the ingredients used are halal. It is always a good idea to double-check the ingredients list and make sure that there are no forbidden substances present.
For those who are looking for halal pretzels, there are many options available, including vegan pretzels and homemade halal pretzels.