Are Smarties Halal
Are Smarties Halal

Are Smarties Halal? (UK and US Versions)

Are smarties halal? Are you a fan of sweet and tangy treats? If yes, then you must have tried the classic candy, Smarties. But, have you ever wondered if these delicious candies are suitable for those following a halal diet?


In this blog, we will explore the ingredients used in making Smarties and whether they meet the criteria for halal.

So, whether you’re a strict adherent to halal dietary restrictions or just curious, read on to find out if Smarties are the right choice for you.

Are Smarties Halal?

Yes, the Smarties sold by the Smarties Candy Company are halal, but the Smarties sold by Nestlé might not be suitable for halal people this is because there are actually two different types of confectionary that go by the name.

Let’s first differentiate the two Smarties that exist in the market.


On one end, there are the Smarties popular in Europe, which closely resemble M&M’s.

They are coloured and sugar-coated chocolate spheres that have been produced since 1937, originally by H.I. Rowntree & Company and now by Nestlé. 

They, like M&M’s, come in a variety of colours, including yellow, red, orange, green, blue, brown, mauve, and pink.

Then there are the Smarties that are “more” popular among the U.S crowd.

They are candy rolls in a variety of flavours, including orange-cream, pineapple, cherry, strawberry, grape, and orange.


In addition, one roll contains 25 calories, which is significantly less than a tube of Nestlé Smarties.

Are Nestlé Smarties Halal?

The ingredients used in making Nestlé Smarties (UK version) are: 

  • Sugar
  • Skimmed Milk Powder
  • Cocoa Mass
  • Cocoa Butter
  • Wheat Flour
  • Butterfat (from Milk)
  • Lactose and Proteins from Whey (from Milk)
  • Rice Starch, Emulsifier (Lecithins)
  • Colours (Beetroot Red, Carotene, Curcumin)
  • Natural Flavouring
  • Spirulina Concentrate
  • Glazing Agents (Carnauba Wax, Beeswax White)
  • Fruit and Vegetable Concentrates (Safflower, Radish)
  • Barley Malt Extract

As you can see, all the ingredients are considered halal except one controversial ingredients, which is whey powder.


The ruling on whey and whey powder is the same as the ruling on the origin of the milk from which they were taken. Whey powder carries the same ruling as animal rennet.

The ruling on rennet varies according to where it is taken from. If it is taken from an animal that has been slaughtered in accordance with sharee’ah, then it is pure and may be eaten.

If it is taken from an animal that died of natural causes or an animal that was not slaughtered in accordance with sharee’ah, then there is a difference of opinion among the fuqaha’ concerning it.

The majority of Maalikis, Shaafa’is and Hanbalis are of the view that it is najis (impure) and not lawful.

Abu Haneefah and Ahmad, according to the other report narrated from him, were of the view that it is taahir (pure) and lawful. 

This issue is subject to ijtihaad and one may follow the view of the Shaykh he asks.

Are Nestlé Smarties Halal

Are Smarties Candy Rolls Halal?

Yes, smarties candy rolls are halal. The Smarties Candy Rolls don’t have animal-based ingredients so they’re lawful.

Ingredients used in making smarties candy rolls are:

  • Dextrose
  • Citric acid
  • Calcium stearate
  • Natural and artificial flavors, as well as
  • Artificial colors (red 40, yellow 5, yellow 6, and blue 2).

All the ingredients are considered halal-friendly. In fact, Smarties (the company) seems to be very proud of it:

“All Smarties candy made by Smarties Candy Company is vegan! There is no need to worry about your dietary and ethical choices coming in conflict with satisfying a sweet tooth.

Smarties candy is the perfect solution. Smarties ingredients contain no animal products, making them a tasty and cruelty-free choice for anyone looking for delicious vegan candy.

Our Smarties products are entirely free of meat, fish, dairy, and eggs. You can rest assured that the calcium stearate is plant-derived and that no animal products were used in the processing of our candy’s ingredients.

There are many reasons people choose a vegan or vegetarian diet including for their health, for the environment, and for the animals.

We are well aware of the importance of these issues, and we are delighted to offer compassionate candy to satisfy the vegan sweet tooth!”

Are Smarties Candy rolls Halal

Note that Flavors and ingredients can change at anytime. Always check the ingredients to be sure if a product is halal.

If there are questionable ingredients, you can contact the company. Different countries may also have different flavors. Flavors could also be discontinued at any time and new flavors could be made.


Similar Posts

One Comment

Leave a Reply