Is vinegar halal? Vinegar is a versatile ingredient used in cooking and cleaning, but for those following a halal diet, the question of whether or not vinegar is halal can be a bit confusing.
Whether you’re a practicing Muslim or simply curious about halal foods, this post will provide you with the information you need to make an informed decision about whether or not to include vinegar in your diet.
Is Vinegar Halal?
Yes, vinegar is halal. It is permissible to use vinegar as it is among the things that Allaah has permitted. It is proven that the Prophet (blessings and peace of Allah be upon him) ate vinegar, and even praised and commended it.
Why Is Vinegar Halal in Islam?
The basic principle concerning foods is that they are halal, except that which the evidence indicates is haram. Allah, may He be exalted, says (interpretation of the meaning):
There is not upon those who believe and do righteousness [any] blame concerning what they have eaten [in the past] if they [now] fear Allah and believe and do righteous deeds, and then fear Allah and believe, and then fear Allah and do good; and Allah loves the doers of good.Surah al-Ma’idah verse 93
He also says:
It is He who created for you all of that which is on the earth. Then He directed Himself to the heaven, [His being above all creation], and made them seven heavens, and He is Knowing of all things.Surah al-Baqarah 2:29
In another verse, Allah says:
Say, “I do not find within that which was revealed to me [anything] forbidden to one who would eat it unless it be a dead animal or blood spilled out or the flesh of swine – for indeed, it is impure – or it be [that slaughtered in] disobedience, dedicated to other than Allah.
But whoever is forced [by necessity], neither desiring [it] nor transgressing [its limit], then indeed, your Lord is Forgiving and Merciful.”Surah al-An‘am 6:145
It is proven that the Prophet (blessings and peace of Allah be upon him) ate vinegar, and even praised and commended it.
Muslim (2052) narrated from Jabir ibn ‘Abdillah (may Allah be pleased with him) that the Prophet (blessings and peace of Allah be upon him) asked his family for condiments and they said:
We do not have anything but vinegar. He called for it and he started eating it, saying: “What a good condiment vinegar is, what a good condiment vinegar is.”
The word translated here as condiment refers to that which is eaten with bread.
An-Nawawi (may Allah have mercy on him) said in Sharh Hadith Muslim:
This hadith points to the virtue of vinegar, that it may be called a condiment and that it is very good. End quote.
It says in al-Mawsu‘ah al-Fiqhiyyah (19/262): There is no difference of opinion among the fuqaha’ regarding the fact that it is permissible to eat and drink vinegar, whether it is made from grapes or anything else.
There is also no difference of opinion regarding the fact that it is permissible to eat vinegar made from wine that has turned into vinegar by itself, without being treated in any way, because the Prophet (blessings and peace of Allah be upon him) said, “What a good condiment vinegar is.” End quote.
OTHER RELATED ARTICLES: