Are Gobstoppers Halal
Are Gobstoppers Halal

Are Gobstoppers Halal? Here’s What You Should Know

Are gobstoppers halal? Are you a fan of sweet and tangy treats that last for hours? If yes, then you might have heard of Gobstoppers. These small, round candies are known for their hard exterior and chewy center.


But with so many restrictions and dietary requirements, it’s important to know what ingredients go into making your favorite treats.

In this blog, we will be discussing whether Gobstoppers are Halal or not, and what it means for those who follow the Islamic dietary laws. Get ready to learn about the Halal status of Gobstoppers and indulge in some guilt-free snacking.

Are Gobstoppers Halal?

Yes, Gobstoppers are halal-friendly as they do not have any obvious ingredients that are non-halal. Despite their varying colors they don’t use any questionable coloring agents like carmine, nor do they contain gelatin or anything else non-halal.

Here are the ingredients typically found in Gobstoppers:


  • Dextrose
  • Maltodextrin
  • Corn Syrup
  • Malic Acid
  • Calcium Stearate
  • Carnauba Wax
  • Artificial Flavors, and
  • Added Colors (Blue 1, Blue 2, Red 40, Yellow 5, and Yellow 6).

Despite the different varieties of Gobstoppers, the list of ingredients remains identical and without animal-based ingredients.

Since the Gobstoppers do not contain any animal-based and haram ingredients, one has to consider it Halal.

Sheikh Assim Al Hakeem said that by default, all foods and sweets are halal until proven otherwise. The scholars set a rule that says that in principle everything is permissible, and they based this rule on shar‘i evidence.

The Quran guidelines indicate that all food products are halal (allowed) except those explicitly mentioned as haram (not compatible with Islam law or prohibited).

So if something is haram, there should be a clear and detailed indication that it is haram. If there is no such proof, then it is not haram.


It is important to always check the list of the ingredients on the product itself because from time to time the companies can change the ingredients that they have used in that specific batch.

Other related articles:



One Comment

Leave a Reply